Dealing with Doubt

We live in an age of information; an age where there is no such thing as “I don’t know”. Information is all around us. It’s at our fingertips. The human race has sent men into space. We’ve figured out how to make cars go on electricity, how to split an atom,  and view galaxies outside of our own. The world is smaller than it ever has been, and yet the one question no one can seem to agree on is “is there a God?”

Before you click back to facebook, let me tell you my story. I was raised in a Christian home from the time I was an infant. God was part of our everyday lives. I often questioned why God would do this or that or why he let good things happen to bad people, and so on, but I never questioned whether or not He existed. Then a few years ago I saw a movie called “Expelled”. It’s a documentary by Ben Stein about the battle teachers and professors have when they teach creationism. At the end of the film, Ben Stein interviews Richard Dawkins, who is one of the worlds leading evolutionary biologists. While he extensively questioned Dawkins about the origins of the universe, I suddenly realized that there where smart people who didn’t believe in God. I felt silly for not realizing this before, but I was overwhelmingly motivated to hear what Dawkins had to say, and I was fascinated as he said it. I went on to watch hours and hours of debate and talk about creation/evolution and the existence of God, which led me to find work by Christopher Hitchens and Stephen Hawking.

My mind struggled to wrap around some of the science and mathematics they talked about, but I never lost my fascination with it. The science channel was on in my house about as much as SPEED and ESPN. I also read books on Christian apologetics, to try and figure out if there was real, tangible evidence for Jesus. Then the light bulb went on in my head. I realized that while my Christianity was no doubt sincere, it was ignorant. I didn’t know the other side. I had never exposed myself to what science had to offer, one way or the other.

It’s now a few years later and it’s still an ongoing process. I’ve figured out that I do deeply and whole heartedly believe that Jesus was here, and is all He says he is. There are still moments though when a thought creeps into my head that I’ve never had, and what I’ve learned is that it’s ok. It’s ok to question. It’s ok to doubt. What it isn’t ok to do though is let it stop there. Doubt is only doubt when it leads to research and study. Doubt left to itself just turns to ignorance. You can be a Christian, an atheist, a buddhist, or an agnostic, but what you can’t be is a doubter. You have to decide.

So what’s the point of this blog? The point is everyone has to go through what I did at some point. You have to realize that these are the big questions for a reason. Eternity hangs in the balance. You can’t ignore them forever. Take it from me, it’s far better to face these questions now then later.

Leave a Reply

